Saturday, December 2, 2023
HomeStatecraftINEC Extends Voting In FCT, 15 Other States

INEC Extends Voting In FCT, 15 Other States

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the extension period of voting for the Presidential and National Assembly elections to Sunday, 26th February 2023.

According to INEC, this was necessitated due to the level violence experienced and ‘tactical disenfranchisement’ (late arrival of election materials) in some areas.

States where the election process would continue are:


1. Lagos: Surulere, Ikate, Okota, Eti-Osa, Kosofe and Oshodi.

2. FCT

3. Ebonyi


4. Rivers

5. Imo

6. Anambra


7. Kano

8. Edo

9. Delta


10. Kogi

11. Bayelsa

12. Enugu


13. Sokoto

14. Taraba

15. Abia


16. Ekiti.

Voting in the affected areas will resume by 8am till 12pm on February 26. Staff and stakeholders have been advised to continue to adhere to all Government/INEC directives and security advisories concerning the election.





Recent Comments